Board Members

Meet our elected 2016-2017 SCPTSA board members! 

President – Sebrena Burr
Sebrena Burr is a long-time Seattle community and education advocate. Previously, she has served as a local PTSA president and as a Washington state delegate for National PTA, where she worked hard to ensure that eliminating opportunity gaps was included in the PTA legislative platform. She started her education advocacy work in early learning and has been a strong voice for families in Olympia for many years, particularly in the area of family engagement, where she was instrumental in developing the PTA Urban Family Engagement Network. She has been recognized for her involvement by Wellspring Family Services, the Children’s Alliance, and the Seattle Central Area Chamber of Commerce.  
Vice President and Reflections Information – Liza Rankin
Liza Rankin is a parent, advocate, and former SPS student who was recently named a ParentMap Superhero for her many contributions to the community. In addition to serving as the Legislative Chair for her son’s elementary school PTSA, she is also a board member for Sand Point Arts and Cultural Exchange (SPACE) in Magnuson Park. She is pleased to bring her passion for arts accessibility to her role as SCPTSA co-vice president and Reflections chair for 2016-2017.     
Treasurer – Cassandra Johnston
In her fourth year with SCPTSA, Cassandra recently completed her term as president, during which she was instrumental in launching the Food for Schools partnership to provide weekend food assistance to students. She also serves as a member of the Mayor’s Education Advisory Committee, the United Way King County Impact Council and co-chair of the Seattle Tutoring Coalition. She has four daughters and enjoys tennis, skiing and the outdoors.  Cassandra
Legislative Chair – Eden Mack
Eden Mack is a Seattle native, Returned Peace Corps Volunteer (RPCV), and a long-time sustainability policy and programs analyst/consultant.  As a proud mom of three kids in Seattle Public Schools, she became active in SCPTSA to increase educational opportunities for each and every student.  In 2016, Eden was honored as one of ParentMap’s Superheroes. See the SCPTSA Advocacy Page to learn more or get involved with SCPTSA’s legislative efforts.  IMG_8683
Secretary – Open Position
Coming soon  
Student Hunger Coordinator- Open
Coming Soon
Outreach Chair – Annabel Quintero
Coming soon  
NE Area Director – OPEN
NW Area Director – Jenny Youngg and Flora Ybarra
Coming soon  
SE Area Director – OPEN
SW Area Director – Lindsay Yost
Coming soon  
Central Area Director – OPEN
Membership Chair – Iris Okimoto-Nielsen
Coming soon  
Special Education Area Director – Hodan Mohamed 
Coming soon